The neighbouring countries of India and facts related to the same act as an important topic with reference to the various Government exams conducted in the country.

The General awareness section is a part of almost every government exam and the syllabus for this section is vast and comprehensive and the Static GK part forms the core of any competitive exam.

In this article, we shall discuss the countries which share their borders with India, be it land border or sea border.  A total of 9 countries share borders with India of which 2 share sea borders and the other 7 land borders.

India – Its Geographic Features

India is located in the southern part of Asia and has a land border of 15,106.7 km and coastline of 7,516.6 km. It is latitudinally located in the Northern Hemisphere and longitudinally located in the Eastern hemisphere.

In terms of population, India is the second largest country in the world and in terms of area, India is the seventh largest country in the world.

Given below is a table that showcases a brief description of India and its neighbouring countries:

India & Its Neighbouring Countries
Country India
Number of Neighbouring Countries 9
Length of Land Border 15,106.7 km
Coastline 7,516.6 km

India’s Neighbouring Countries – Capital & State Borders

The table given below gives the list of neighbouring countries of India along with their capital and Indian states that they share border with:

Neighbouring Countries – Capital & State Borders
Neighbouring Country Capital Indian States which share Border
Afghanistan Kabul Ladakh (PoK)
Bangladesh Dhaka West Bengal, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Tripura and Assam
Bhutan Thimphu West Bengal, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh & Assam
China Beijing Ladakh, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh
Myanmar Yangon Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Mizoram and Manipur
Nepal Kathmandu Bihar, Uttarakhand, UP, Sikkim and West Bengal
Pakistan Islamabad Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Punjab, Rajasthan and Gujarat
Sri Lanka Colombo It is separated to India by Gulf of Mannar
Maldives Male It lies in the south-west part of India Ocean below the Lakshadweep Island

Neighbouring Countries – A Brief Summary

Further, we shall discuss the countries which share boundaries with India, along with the essential information with respect to the competitive exams.

  • Afghanistan

Border Length- 106 km

Official Languages – Dari, Pashto

Currency – Afghan Afghani

States/ Provinces – 34 Provinces

Located in Central Asia, Afghanistan has an area of about 6,52,230 sq km. Major dependence of this country’s economy is on agriculture. The prominent religion that is followed by the people in Afghanistan is Islam and the main industrial activities include manufacturing of cotton textiles, woven carpets, handicrafts and woollens.

  • Bangladesh

Border Line – 4096.7 Km

Official Language – Bengali

Currency – Bangladeshi taka

States/ Provinces – 8 Provinces

India and Bangladesh share one of the longest borders in the world and It covers an area of 1,43,998 sq km and has a coastline of 580 km. The Bangladeshi states, Rajshahi, Dhaka, Chittagong, Khulna, Rangpur and Sylhet share their borders with India.

  • Bhutan

Border Line – 699 km

Official Language – Dzongkha

Currency – Ngultrum

States/ Provinces – 20 States

Spread over an area of 38, 394 sq km, the population of this country follows Buddhism followed by Hinduism. There is a parliamentary form of government in Bhutan and the main sources of economy includes Hydropower, agriculture, forestry and tourism.

  • China

Border Line – 3488 km

Official Language – Mandarin

Currency – Chinese Yuan

States/ Provinces – 26 Provinces

The world’s most populated country, China, spreads over an area of about 95,96,960 sq km. The country is one of the world’s fastest growing economies. India and China hold cordial relations but there are certain disputes which lead to strained relations between the two countries.

  • Myanmar

Border Line – 1643 km

Official Language – Burmese

Currency – Burmese Kyat

Located in thewestern portion of mainland South Asia Myanmar and is spread over an area of 6,76,578 sq km. The country is governed by the presidential republic by a bicameral legislature. India is Myanmar’s fourth largest export market.

  • Nepal

Border Line – 1751 km

Official Language – Nepali

Currency – Nepalese Rupee

States/ Provinces – 7 Provinces

Nepal is located to the north east of India and extended over an area of 1,47,181 sq km. The world’s tallest peak, Mount Everest is located in Nepal. Also, eight of the tallest mountain peaks out of the 10 across the world, are located in Nepal. A major part of the economy is handled by tourism and the Government is a federal parliamentary republic.

  • Pakistan

Border Line – 3323 km

Official Language – Urdu

Currency – Pakistani Rupee

States/ Provinces – 4 Provinces

A country which was initially a part of India, was separated to form a new country, named Pakistan. This country spans over an area of 7,96,095 sq km. The Prime Minister is the head of the country and all major decisions are made under his supervision.

  • Sri Lanka

Border Line – Sea Border

Official Language – Sinhala, Tamil

Currency – Sri Lankan Rupee

States/ Provinces – 9 States

One of the two countries which share Indian coastline, Sri Lanka is spread over an area of 65,610 sq km. It is considered as a tourist destination by many and is one of those places which is a home to many ethnic groups and religious cultures.

  • Maldives

Border Line – Sea Border

Official Language – Dhivehi

Currency – Maldivian Rufiyaa

States/ Provinces – 1 Only

Located in the Indian Ocean-Arabian sea area, the island nation of Maldives is located to the south west of India. Spread over an area of 298 sq km only, Maldives comprises more than a thousand coral islands. The predominant religion in the country is Islam.

The information given above shall help candidates prepare themselves for the various competitive exams.


Sample Questions for Neighbouring Countries in India

Given below are a few questions for the reference of candidates to analyse the type of questions asked with respect to this topic in the various competitive Government exams.

Q 1. Which of these Indian states does not share a border with Bhutan?

  1. Assam
  2. Sikkim
  3. Meghalaya
  4. Arunachal Pradesh
  5. West Bengal

Answer: (3) Meghalaya

Q 2. Which two countries share the longest border in the world?

  1. India & Bhutan
  2. India & Pakistan
  3. China & India
  4. Myanmar & India
  5. India & Bangladesh

Answer: (5) India & Bangladesh

Q 3. How many countries share the sea border with India?

  1. One
  2. Three
  3. Four
  4. Two
  5. Seven

Answer: (4) Two

Q 4. Which country shares the smallest border with India?

  1. Pakistan
  2. China
  3. Bhutan
  4. Myanmar
  5. Afghanistan

Answer: (5) Afghanistan

Q 5. Which is the smallest neighbouring country of India?

  1. Bhutan
  2. Myanmar
  3. Nepal
  4. Afghanistan
  5. None of the Above

Answer: (1) Bhutan

The above mentioned questions may candidates understand the type of questions asked related to this topic in the general awareness section of the exam.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap