( TET ) Teacher Eligibility Test

CTET Syllabus pdf free download

What is the Teacher Eligibility Test?

The Teacher Eligibility Test, known as TET, TET needs minimum qualification required. In India, for a person to be eligible for an appointment as a teacher. Classes I to VIII / 1st to 8th. The test is mandatory for teaching jobs in Indian government schools. There are two papers Paper 1, for teachers of Classes I to V ( 1st to 5th), and Paper 2 for Classes VI to VIII ( 6th to 8th). The TET is conducted by both the central and the state governments of India. Most states conduct their own TET. The test is conducted to meet the objectives of the Right of Children to Free and Compulsory Education Act, 2009.

– Contents are given below –

History –

The Test

Central Teacher Eligibility Test – CTET

Statewise TET ( All )

  • Andhra Pradesh & Telangana
  • Uttar Pradesh
  • Rajasthan
  • Haryana
  • Punjab
  • etc…
Ctet Time Table
Ctet Time Table


The Teacher Eligibility Test (TET) was introduced by the Govt of India in 2011 to improve standards in teaching. Teachers already working were expected to pass the exam within 2 years.

About Test

The exam is based on the Government of India’s National Curriculum Framework for Teacher Education and is a mandatory qualification for incoming teachers for Classes I through VIII. People with professional teaching qualifications, including the B.T.C (D.El.Ed), B.Ed, and B.El.Ed, are eligible to take the test. Candidates must score over 60% to pass.

The (CBSE) maintains the TET database and guides government bodies on conducting the test.

Central Teacher Eligibility Test – CTET

CTET was established when, following the provisions of sub-section (1) of Section 23 of the RTE Act, the (NCTE) National Council for Teacher Education received notifications dated 23 August 2010 and 29 July 2011 stipulating minimum qualifications for eligibility to teach Classes I to VIII. Passing the TET, conducted following NCTE Guidelines, is an essential requirement for appointment as a teacher in any of the schools referred to in clause (n) of section 2 of the Right of Children to Free and Compulsory Education Act (RTE Act).

The national Ministry of Human Resource Development entrusted responsibility for conducting the exams

Central Teacher Eligibility Test (CTET) to the CBSE, Delhi, which conducts the CTET twice a year. The CTET is held in 20 Indian languages. Approx 14 lakh candidates apply to sit the examination. The thirteenth edition of CTET was held on 8 December 2019 in 110 Indian cities.

Candidates must score a minimum of 60% to become CTET Qualified, and the certificate is valid for seven years. Successful candidates become eligible to apply for recruitment as teachers of Classes I to VIII in schools under the purview of the Central Government (KVS Kendriya vidhyala, NVS navodaya vidhyala, Central Tibetan Schools, etc.), and schools under the administrative control of the union territories (UTs) of Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu and Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, and the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT). The examination is demanding, with qualification rates of 1-14 percent in the exams held to date.

The TET was made a necessary prerequisite for appointment as a teacher to meet the following objectives:

To establish a national benchmark and standards for teacher quality and recruitment

To encourage further improvement in the performance standards of teacher education institutions and their students

And  To communicate the Government’s particular focus on teacher quality

Statewise TET

Punjab – ( PSTET ) OR P TET

The Department of School Education, Punjab is responsible for conducting the Punjab State ( TET ) Teacher Eligibility Test or PSTET examination. PSTET has conducted two different papers –  candidates wishing to join Punjab School Education Board ( PSEB )  as a teacher

Paper I: for recruitment of teachers from Classes I to V

Paper-II: for recruitment of teachers from Classes VI to VIII

Eligible candidates apply to sit the PSTET through the official Punjab School Education Board website.

Andhra Pradesh & Telangana – ( APTET )

TET weighting in the District Selection Committee ( DSC ) teacher selection entrance examination is 20%.

Some 4 lakh candidates sat for the 2012 test. In February 2019, thousands of candidates sat the Andhra Pradesh TET examination, which was held in several test centers.


Haryana – ( HTET )

The Haryana Teacher Eligibility Test (HTET) is conducted by the Board of School Education Haryana (BSEH) from time to time, for the following categories of school teachers: Primary (PRT), Trained Graduate Teacher (TGT), and Post Graduate Teacher (PGT).

Until 2009, the examination was known as the State Teacher Eligibility Test (STET). In 2011, under the RTE Act, 2009, and according to the issuance of notification by the NCTE, it was renamed the HTET.

The examination comprises three categories:

Level I: for teaching Classes I to V – ( PRT )

Level II: for teaching Classes VI to VIII – ( TGT )

And The Level III: for postgraduate teaching – ( PGT )

The HTET qualifying certificate is valid for five years from the date of passing the examination.

There is no restriction on the number of times a candidate may attempt the test,

and candidates who have already obtained the HTET/STET qualification may resit the test to improve their score.


Uttar Pradesh – ( UPTET )

Uttar Pradesh ‘s  Basic Education Board ( UPBEB ) holds its TET examinations ( UPTET ) once a year to select primary and junior teachers. The UPTET written exam comprises two papers:

Paper I: for primary level teachers

Paper-II: for junior level teachers

Candidates may sit either or both papers.

In 2016, the UPTET written examination was held on 19 December, in two shifts.

In 2017, UP.BEB published its examination notification on 22 August, and the written exam was conducted on 15 October.

And In 2018, the UPBEB notification was scheduled for publication on 15 September,

with applications beginning on 17 September for the written examination on 28 October.


Rajasthan – (RTET)

Rajasthan Board of Secondary Education (RBSE) organizes the Rajasthan Teacher Eligibility Test (RTET) for teachers in Rajasthan state.

Teacher Eligibility Tests are conducted twice a year, for two levels, Level 1 and Level 2.

Candidates have 2 hours and 30 minutes in which to answer 150 questions. The Level 1 Exam paper is divided into 5 parts. The Level 2 exam paper comprises four parts, of which parts 1-3 are mandatory.


Top 100 पर्यायवाची समानार्थी SSC CGL RAILWAY


LetsLearnSquad Website








All these PDFs which are provided right here or on This Website are simply for Education purposes, only for those who can’t afford paid materials or do not have the proper information, we provide Pdf Files with a download link. Please make use of them for constructing knowledge, fulfill All dreams, and don’t make them Commercial. We request you to recognize our Hard Work.

All our Advertisements are Decent commercials [ we don’t compromise in the Quality ] and if anyone has any trouble with the website or commercials please contact me at [email protected]

[ Help ]

If You Have Previous Year Question Paper of Your University or any Project Files & Assignment PDF then Share them With Thousand of Students Like You. Send Your PDFs Here !!

We will Publish your pdf File With your Photo and Name

Email ID: [email protected]


Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap